top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCatherine Smith

Hawaii

One of my favorite vacations I've ever been on has been my trip to Hawaii. I visited Oahu, Maui, and the Big Island. This was originally for my dad's business and to visit family, but we ended up staying longer to further explore the islands. My family and I stayed for a duration of two weeks in 2017.


Once arriving in Honolulu, I was in awe. Even the airport was beautiful. It was open with the bright sunlight coming in, and you could smell the fresh Hawaiian air. The plants were beautiful, and they were all around. After stepping out of the airport to get the rental car, I was amazed by the sights of the island. All I could see was sunshine, ocean, mountains, and plants. Trees and flowers surrounded the land.


My cousins live in Hawaii, so our first stop was their house. Once arriving, I was shocked to find their entire backyard was just a beach. The deck stepped onto sand, which led into the Pacific Ocean. Compared to my house with a grass yard, I was impressed. My aunt and cousins showed me around their city, showing me restaurants, shops, sightseeing locations, and beaches. I could not wait to spend the next two weeks exploring.


Given the setting, my cousins are surfers. My cousin, Kailee, was determined to teach me how to surf. Me, not being able to even swim at the time, was not sure I would be able to. After a lot of persuasion, she finally convinced me, and I found myself in the surfboard rental shop one sunny afternoon. After buying a rash guard and a proper suit, I rented a surfboard and began walking it down to the beach. I was nervous, to say the least. Once on the beach, Kailee began walking me through the steps, and told me what to expect. Reluctantly, I began paddling out to the water. After finding the courage, I stood up when a wave came. I ended up hitting a snorkeler, but that's a different story for another day...


One of my favorite parts about this vacation was learning more about Hawaiians. They have such a unique culture, and I got lucky to experience it. Throughout my time there, I learned some of the local slang and Hawaiian words. I went to a luau, and was able to see first hand some traditions and traditional food. While my cousins live in Hawaii, they are not native Hawaiians, but they made sure to teach me.



Hawaii is a very sunny, warm place. I am a very pale person, so I ended up being very burned by the end of the trip. Even with a burn, I loved every second of being outside, seeing the mountains, ocean, beach, flowers, and palm trees. I would totally recommend this state to anyone looking for beautiful waters, mountains, and skies, as well as learning a new culture.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page