top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCatherine Smith

Long Beach

In the summer of 2018, my mom told me that I could pick the location for our family vacation that year. After doing some research and thinking, I came up with Long Beach, California.


Arriving in Long Beach, I was excited to get out of Dunlap and see the ocean. I really like the ocean, and Illinois is no good in that department. My family rented a house a few blocks away from the beach.


We drove through Malibu and Los Angeles while in California. Malibu was beautiful, but LA honestly wasn't as great as I imagined. I did go to The Grove shopping mall, which did have great stores that I had never even heard of.


Every night around sunset, I walked to the beach and sat by myself. It was one of the most calming experiences of my entire life. At night, I was pretty much by myself, listening to the waves and watching the sunset. The beach also happened to be a dog beach, so there were cute puppies running around, which I highly enjoyed.



I had begged my mom to take me to Disneyland. I went to Disney World a lot as a child, and I thought that it would be a very fun experience. However, after hours of waiting in lines in the hot sun, I was ready to go home. The gift shops were very fun, though.


I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to Long Beach. The scenery was beautiful, and I was able to spend relaxing time with my family. Long Beach would be a place I would love to live when I get older, however, it is a bit pricey. Hopefully my future career would be able to allow me too...



5 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page